for flute and ensemble


First performance: 21 December 1975 – Budapest
Second version: 18 July, 1989 Szombathely, Bartók Festival
Ensemble InterContemporain
Conductor: Peter Eötvös
Latest version with accordeon: 14 September 2002 – Cologne
Cologne Musikfabrik
Conductor: Franck Ollu



Wind sequences premiered in Budapest in 1975, and since then it has been revised twice by the composer himself: the version that is applicable today was created in 2002. With the exception of the double bass and the drums, the ensemble only includes instruments that use air to produce sound: four flutes – some with a different tuning-,  an oboe, a cor anglais, two clarinets and a bass clarinet , a tuba and an accordion. The oboe is also responsible for imitating the sound of the wind, and in the sixth sequence (“South wind”), it is even provided with a separate score with the title „Wind” written in a graphic notation. The percussion instruments – the bass drum, the two cymbals and the two Japanese wind bells – are not only used as rhythm instruments but also help generate the timbre of the wind instruments.


1. Windless I
2. Three sequences of the montain wind
3. Seven sequences of the whirlwind
4. Sequence of the morning breeze
5. Four sequences of the sea wind – North wind
6. Four sequences of the sea wind – South wind
7. Four sequences of the sea wind – East-west wind
8. Windless II 


“However strongly this may be suggested by the title, the composition is not programmatic or illustrative in character.
The poetic titles to the movements are taken from subsequent associations. The essence of the series of movements is the familiar Zen paradox of calm in movement and movement in calm, an immobility that always contains the potential for motion. It has no object, as it signifies a readiness for action of any kind. For this philosophical content Eötvös sought technical solutions and musical means.”

/András Wilheim/


10 Mar, 2013
Zürich, Switzerland

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Brunchkonzert, Opernhaus Zürich

10 Mar, 2012
Toronto, Canada

Eötvös: Psy, Octet, Windsequenzen
5 Dec, 2011
Budapest, Hungary

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

UMZE Ensemble
Cond: Gregory Vajda

19 Nov, 2009
Paris, France

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Ensemble Intercontemporain
Conductor: Susanna Malkki

12 Mar, 2008
Lyon, France

Eötvös: Kosmos, Windsequenzen

Lyon Biennale
CNSMD atelier
Conductor: Fabrice Pierre

1 Mar, 2007
Zürich, Switzerland

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Collegium Novum Zürich
Cond: Roland Kluttig

26 Sep, 2004
Frankfurt, Germany

Eötvös: Two poems to Polly, Chinese Opera, Snatches of a conversation, Windsequenzen

Ensemble Modern

2 Dec, 2003
London, UK

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

London Sinfonietta
Pierre Andre Valade

30 Nov, 2003
Huddersfield, UK

Eötvös: Windsequenzen, Snatches of a conversation

Snatches of a conversation
(UMZE Ensemble Budapest)
(Keller Quartet)
(London Sinfonietta)

Huddersfield Festival

29 Nov, 2003
Huddersfield, UK

Eötvös: Windsequenzen, Snatches of a conversation

Snatches of a conversation
(UMZE Ensemble Budapest)
(Keller Quartet)
(London Sinfonietta)

Huddersfield Festival

4 Jul, 2003
Vitasaari, Finland

Eötvös' portrait

Eötvös' portrait
Time of Music Festival
Kosmos (Jukka Tiensuu)
Kosmos (Emil Holmström, Joonas Ahonen)
Derwishtanz (Päivi Kiljala, Heikki Nikula, Kaisa Koivula)
Psy (Mikael Helasvuo, roi Ruottinen, Joonas Ahonen)
Drei Madrigalkomödien (Finnish Radio Chamber Choir)
Harakiri (Mikael Helasvuo, Lauri Toivio, Piia Komsi, Kari Kaarna, Reijo Kela)
Windsequenzen (Uusinta - Zagros Ensemble, cond. Susanna Mälkii)
Two poems to Polly (Roi Ruottinen)

4-5-6 July, Time of Music Festival

15 Jun, 2003
Vienna, Austria

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Klangforum Wien
Cond: Peter Eötvös

15 Sep, 2002
Cologne, Germany

Eötvös: Korrespondenz, Kosmos, Mese, Snatches of a conversation, Windsequenzen

Korrespondenz (Pellegrini Quartet)
Kosmos (Andreas Grau, Götz Schumacher)
Snatches of a conversation (Musikfabrik, cond. Eötvös)
Windsequenzen (Musikfabrik, cond. Frank Ollu)
14-15 September, WDR Cologne


14 Sep, 2002
Cologne, Germany

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Latest version - first performance
with accordeon

19 Jan, 2002
Berlin, Germany

Eötvös: Psalm 151, Psy, Two poems to Polly, Windsequenzen

Cond: Franck Ollu

17 Nov, 2001
Chicago, USA

Eötvös: Sequenzes of the Wind

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Cond: Pierre Boulez



3 Oct, 2001
Karlsruhe, Germany

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Cond: Philippe Nahon

10 Jul, 2001
Avignon, France

Eötvös: Psy, Two poems to Polly, Kosmos, Windsequenzen, Shadows, Korrespondenz 

Two poems to Polly
Kosmos  (two piano version)
 (UMZE Ensemble Budapest)
Shadows (UMZE Ensemble Budapest)
Korrespondenz (Arditti quartet)

10-25 July
UMZE Chamber Ensembe Budapest

19 May, 2000
Frankfurt, Germany

Eötvös: Windsequenzen, Intervalles-Interieurs, Psalm 151


26 Oct, 1999
Budapest, Hungary

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

UMZE Budapest


4 Oct, 1999
Karlsruhe, Germany

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Karlsruhe ZKM
UMZE Budapest

28 Sep, 1999
Düsseldorf, Germany

Eötvös: Chinese Opera, Psy, Steine, Windsequenzen, Psalm 151, Two poems

Chinese Opera, Psy (marimba version), Steine, Windsequenzen, Psalm 151(four players), Two poems
Musikfabrik Düsseldorf

5 Jul, 1998
Szombathely, Hugary

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Bartók Festival, Hungary
UMZE Chamber Orchestra

18 Jul, 1989
Szombathely, Hungary

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

Second version - first performance
Bartok Festival

21 Dec, 1975
Budapest, Hungary

Eötvös: Windsequenzen

First performance


29 minutes

Publisher information

Editio Musica Budapest


TITLE Dur. Soloists & choir fl ob cl bcl bn   hn tpt tbn tba   perc pf hp   vn1 vn2 va vc db Other Tech
29'11210 0001 100 00001acc

fl. (picc., altfl.) , ob. (Eng. horn, windimitation), 2cl., bcl., tuba, double bass, bassdrum, accordion


Klangforum Wien, Cond: Peter Eötvös

Further information

Péter Eötvös spent half a year in Japan in 1970, where he performed as a member of the Karlheinz Stockhausen ensemble in the German pavilion of the Osaka World’s Fair.

His encounter with Japanese culture, but especially Zen Buddhism, had a great impact on him. The basic idea of the “Sequences of the Wind” relies upon one of the paradox of Zen: calmness in movement and movement in calmness. The sound was inspired by the Japanese landscape and Japanese gardens (the sounds of rain, wind, stones, and the rustle of bamboo).

This is the third version of the piece (the first two versions, written in 1975 and 1989, were withdrawn by the author). The piece in its current state consists of eight parts.

Many elements of modern flute playing appear in it. The soloist alternates between four different instruments (beside the traditional flute, a flute tuned a quarter tone lower, an alto flute tuned a quarter tone lower, and a piccolo).

The “wind imitation” produced by the oboe player without an instrument, simply with his mouth, has a strange and unusual effect.