Eötvös: Respond – premiere

In 1998 the orchestral work “Replica” by Péter Eötvös was commissioned by Filarmonica della Scala of Milan.
A new version of the 1998 Replica work, with a new title, in line with the requirements of the covid pandemic, its large orchestra was reduced from 49 to 32 and received a musical extension.
The piece was written in close proximity to the opera Three Sisters, and it is undoubtedly related to that work in its mood. The composer has written: “One of the basic attitudes of the concerto is leave-taking, which refers to the three great farewell scenes that close each of the opera´s three sequences.” The eminent British musicologist Paul Griffiths added, alluding to the protagonists of Chekhov´s play: “(it is) the farewell of people who are not going anywhere.”

This revised new version under the title “Respond” has been premiered in Berlin on the 9th January 2022.

viola: Yulia Deyneka
conductor: James Gaffigan

Event by the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in collaboration with the Pierre Boulez Saal.

more info about the concert >
more info about the piece >

On photo: Yulia Deyneka, viola
Photo credit: Mauro Turatti

Go to Top